Good morning breakfast pie

Want to know a secret? I love pie! Ok, so it’s not really a secret, but it is definitely true. I love all pie, coconut cream pie, key lime pie, pot pie, and breakfast pie. Breakfast pie? I know, most people call it Quiche but Im not very fancy and I’m eating it for breakfast. Pie is so easy to make, hard to screw up, and always delicious. I used to buy my pie crust at the grocery store until I found this article on pie crust over at The Italian Dish. I will never use store bought crust again. This crust is so easy, so fast, and absolutely perfect. Thank you Elaine, you have changed my pie loving life!

It is cold this morning and I am craving pie. Please do not laugh, 45 is cold for Texas. After I wrapped in my warmest sweater and made myself a Chai tea, I whipped up this easy and delicious pie. You can call it Broccoli and Red Bells Quiche, I will call it breakfast pie!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup broccoli. (I used fresh this morning but frozen works just as well)
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 shallot
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 3/4 cup jack cheese
  • 1-2 jalapeno ( depending on heat)
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • smoked paprika
  • salt and pepper

First I made the pie crust from the link above, as I previously stated it is my favorite crust and super easy to make. While the crust was baking its first round in the oven I chopped all the veggies, and shredded the cheese. While the crust takes it second round sans weights in the oven, I start the veggies on the stove. First olive oil, then garlic, adding shallots and then jalapeno. Add vegetables and cook until just al dente. Season with a few sprinkles of smoked paprika, and a few turns of crushed black pepper, and three big pinches of salt When al dente, I took off the stove and waited for my pie crust to finish round 2. In a large pyrex I poured 3/4 cup heavy cream and 3/4 cup milk to make 1.5 cups of liquid. There are many ratios you can use, and they mostly work just fine. I have previously used more milk than cream, more cream than milk, and all cream. I like the equal parts ratio. It makes me feel like I am being healthy. I know it makes no sense, but I like it that way, and it tastes delicious. Now add four eggs to cream and milk mixture and beat with whisk. I love this part. Its so thick and rich and the pale yellow color is so warming. Next; season with three more pinches of salt, three shakes of smoked paprika and a twist of black pepper. Beat again. Add Veggie mix to pie crust, top with shredded cheese and then smother in delicious egg cream mixture. Bake in 375 oven for 40-50 mins, I always start at thiry five and then check every five minutes until it looks done. Top should be solid but not dried out and cracked. Remove from oven and let cool before slicing. Did you turn off the oven? Somehow I always forget that part. Thank goodness the BF always remembers for me.

I love the way this turned out with the little red sprinkles of paprika. I hope you enjoy this breakfast pie. Next time I think I will add some chile powder for a little more heat. Let me know how it turned out for you.

2 thoughts on “Good morning breakfast pie

  1. Cynthia says:

    Great Pie! I had a little trouble with the crust, but it was also my first use of my new Cuisinart 11 c processor. I used green chiles instead of jalapeno and a combo of sharp cheddar, jack and asadero cheeses. The green chile didn’t provide enough punch, so will use the jalapenos next time. This is the only quiche I have made that really set nicely. The texture was perfect so I won’t stray from your 1/2 heavy cream, 1/2 milk proportions. Thanks so much. Where did you get your pie beads??

    • I’m glad it turned out for you. The crust just takes some practice, you’ll get it. I don’t have pie beads, I have pie beans. I’ve been reusing the same pinto beans for years now, they stay in a jar on my counter and work perfectly.

Leave a Reply

